Agatha Christie

The Regatta Mystery and Other Stories


Main Details
Agatha Christie
1939 First published
Publication Location USA
Language English
Notes The Regatta Mystery and Other Stories is a short story collection written by Agatha Christie and first published in the US by Dodd, Mead and Company in 1939. The stories feature, with one exception (In a Glass Darkly), Hercule Poirot, Miss Marple or Parker Pyne, Christie's detectives. The collection was not published in the UK and was the first time a Christie book was published in the US without a comparable publication in the UK; however all of the stories in the collection were published in later UK collections.

• "The Regatta Mystery" - first published under the title "Poirot and the Regatta Mystery" in The Chicago Tribune, May 3, 1936. The character Hercule Poirot was changed to Parker Pyne for inclusion in this collection
• "The Mystery of the Baghdad Chest"
• "How Does Your Garden Grow?" - first published in The Strand, August 1935
• "Problem at Pollensa Bay" - first published in Strand Magazine, November 1935
• "Yellow Iris" - first published in 1937
• "Miss Marple Tells a Story" - was a special commission from the BBC for a series called Short Story. The story was read by Agatha Christie and broadcast on 11 May 1934
• "The Dream" - first published in Strand Magazine, February 1938
• "In a Glass Darkly" - first published Woman's Journal, December 1934
• "Problem at Sea" - first published under the title "Poirot and the Crime in Cabin 66" in The Strand, February 1936


There are no comments... Yet!
Login or Register to post a comment