Annika Bengtzon

Annika Bengtzon is a fictional character in a Scandinavian noir book and film series created by the Swedish journalist, publisher and crime writer Liza Marklund. With the Annika Bengtzon series, Marklund introduced a female tabloid journalist as the protagonist, in a genre where the main characters had often been men. Current events, like political scandals or women's issues, are often intertwined with the plot, or introduced in subplots. Bengtzon works as a journalist for the fictional Swedish newspaper Kvällspressen ("The Evening News"). She hails from Hälleforsnäs in Södermanland but now lives on Kungsholmen island in Stockholm. She has obvious similarities to the author, with Liza Marklund herself pictured on the book covers. Bengtzon also appears briefly in Jan Guillou's book Fienden inom oss (The Enemy Within).
As of 2017, there has been eleven novels by Liza Markund which featured the character Annika Bengtzon. The novels were not written (or published) in the chronological order of the events depicted in the heroine's life. Starting with Sprängaren, in which Annika is already a deft professional, the story then moves back in time several years, to the start of her career and the meeting with her future husband Thomas. By the fifth installment, Den röda vargen, the reader is back in the present.

By order written, the novels include:
• Sprängaren (1998; English translation The Bomber, trans. Kajsa von Hofsten, 2000; The Bomber, trans. Neil Smith, 2011) [Chronological order #4]
• Studio sex (1999; Studio 69, trans. Kajsa von Hofsten, 2002; Exposed, trans. Neil Smith, 2011) [Chronological order #1]
• Paradiset (2000; Paradise, trans. Ingrid Eng-Rundlow, 2004; Vanished, trans. Neil Smith, 2012) [Chronological order #2]
• Prime Time (2002; Prime Time, trans. Ingrid Eng-Rundlow, 2006) [Chronological order #3]
• Den röda vargen (2003; English translation The Red Wolf, trans. Neil Smith, 2010) [Chronological order #5]
• Nobels testamente (2006; English translation Last Will, trans. Neil Smith, 2012) [Chronological order #6]
• Livstid (2007; English translation Lifetime, trans. Neil Smith, 2013) [Chronological order #7]
• En plats i solen (2008; English translation The Long Shadow, trans. Neil Smith, 2013) [Chronological order #8]
Du gamla, du fria (2011; English translation Borderline, trans. Neil Smith, 2014) [Chronological order #9]
• Lyckliga gatan (2013; English translation Without a Trace trans. Neil Smith, 2015) [Chronological order #10]
Järnblod (2015; English translation "The Final Word", trans. Neil Smith, 2016) [Chronological order #11]


There are no comments... Yet!
Login or Register to post a comment