Rowohlt Verlag GmbH

Rowohlt Verlag is a German publishing house based in Reinbek and also Hamburg and Berlin, part of the Georg von Holtzbrinck Group since 1982. The company was created in 1908 in Leipzig by Ernst Rowohlt.
Ernst Rowohlt (1887 - 1960) started publishing in 1908
Ernst Rowohlt Verlag was registered in July 1910 (Leipzig) and erased in February 1913
Ernst Rowohlt (Verlag) KG is founded in January 1919 (Berlin), November 1922 business form is changed to KGaA.
June 1931 Ernst Rohwohlt (Verlag) KGaA has to annouce insolvency after it's principal bank went bankrupt.
August 1931: Rowohlt Verlag GmbH is founded as rescue company, the KGaA is kept until July 1937 for claims of creditors.
July 1938 Ernst Rowohlt gets an occupational ban from the Nazi regime, because of "camouflage of jewish writers".
October 1938: announcement of the affiliation of Rowohlt Verlag GmbH to the DVA (Deutsche Verlags Anstalt [AG]).
February 1939: although DVA takes over the last company shares, they leave Rowohlt Verlag a company of it's own.
November 1943: Rowohlt Verlags Gmbh gets closed.
Re-founded after WWII in Stuttgart (November 1945), Offices were founded in Hamburg (March 1946), Baden-Baden (September 1946) and Berlin (November 1947). They were merged to Hamburg in August 1950 (Stuttgart's regestry wasn't erased from registry until January 1953).
Additional paperback brand is founded in 1953: Rowohlt Taschenbuch Verlag GmbH.
April 1960: relocation from Hamburg to Reinbek.
Additional office in Berlin is founded 1990: Rowohlt Berlin Verlag GmbH
2019: relocation from Reinbek back to Hamburg.

See also: Ernst Rowohlt Verlag


There are no comments... Yet!
Login or Register to post a comment