Lew Archer

Lew Archer is a fictional character created by Ross Macdonald. Archer is a private detective working in Southern California. Between the late 1940s and the early 1970s, the character appeared in 18 novels and a handful of shorter works as well as several film and television adaptations. The titles are:

• The Moving Target (1949)
• The Drowning Pool (1950)
• The Way Some People Die (1951)
• The Ivory Grin (1952; aka Marked for Murder)
• Find a Victim (1954)
• The Barbarous Coast (1956)
• The Doomsters (1958)
• The Galton Case (1959)
• The Wycherly Woman (1961)
• The Zebra-Striped Hearse (1962)
• The Chill (1964)
• The Far Side of the Dollar (1965)
• Black Money (1966)
• The Instant Enemy (1968)
• The Goodbye Look (1969)
• The Underground Man (1971)
• Sleeping Beauty (1973)
• The Blue Hammer (1976)

Short stories:
"Find the Woman" (June 1946, EQMM)
"The Bearded Lady" (American Magazine, October 1948)
"The Imaginary Blonde" (February 1953, Manhunt; AKA Gone Girl)
"The Guilty Ones" (May 1953, Manhunt; AKA The Sinister Habit)
"The Beat-Up Sister" (October 1953, Manhunt; AKA The Suicide)
"Guilt-Edged Blonde" (January 1954, Manhunt)
"Wild Goose Chase" (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, July 1954)
"Midnight Blue" (October 1960, Ed McBain's Mystery Magazine)
"The Sleeping Dog" (April 1965, Argosy)
in three collections: The Name is Archer, Lew Archer, Private Investigator, and Strangers in Town


There are no comments... Yet!
Login or Register to post a comment