Fyodor Dostoyevsky

  • Born:
  • Died:

Fyodor Mikhailovich Dostoyevsky, sometimes transliterated Dostoevsky (Russian: Фёдор Михайлович Достоевский) (born 11 November 1821 – died 9 February 1881) was a Russian novelist, short story writer, essayist, journalist and philosopher. Dostoyevsky's literary works explore human psychology in the troubled political, social, and spiritual atmosphere of 19th-century Russia, and engage with a variety of philosophical and religious themes.

He began writing in his 20s, and his first novel, Poor Folk, was published in 1846 when he was 25. His major works include Crime and Punishment (1866), The Idiot (1869), Demons (1872) and The Brothers Karamazov (1880). His output consists of 11 novels, three novellas, 17 short novels and numerous other works. Many literary critics rate him as one of the greatest psychologists in world literature. His 1864 novella Notes from Underground is considered to be one of the first works of existentialist literature.


There are no comments... Yet!
Login or Register to post a comment