Brian MacArthur

The Penguin Book of Twentieth-Century Protest

1998 (First Published)

Main Details
Editor Brian MacArthur
Imprint Viking
Cover photo Hiroji Kubota
Cover photo M. Abramson
Cover photo Steve McCurry
Publisher Penguin Group
Typeset by Rowland Phototypesetting Ltd
Printed by Clays Ltd, St Ives plc*
Contributor Ida B. Wells
Contributor Keir Hardie
Contributor Emily Hobhouse
Contributor Seebohm Rowntree
Contributor Jack London
Contributor William Du Bois*
Contributor J. A. Hobson
Contributor George Bernard Shaw
Contributor Robert Blatchford
Contributor National Association for the Advancement of Colored People
Contributor Sylvia Pankhurst
Contributor Beatrice Webb
Contributor David Lloyd George
Contributor John Galsworthy
Contributor American Socialist Party*
Contributor Daily Herald
Contributor Observer*
Contributor Anonymous
Contributor Bertrand Russell
Contributor Daily Mail
Contributor Woodrow Wilson
Contributor Keith Murdoch
Contributor C. E. Montague
Contributor Signatories of the Proclamation of the Irish Republic
Contributor Clifford Allen
Contributor Francis Meynell
Contributor Siegfried Sassoon
Contributor V. I. Lenin*
Contributor Evadne Price
Contributor R. H. Tawney
Contributor J. M. Keynes*
Contributor Count Brockdorff-Rantzau*
Contributor The Nation
Contributor Edwin Samuel Montagu
Contributor Ho Chi Minh
Contributor Marie Stopes
Contributor Mahatma Gandhi
Contributor Adolf Hitler
Contributor Marcus Garvey
Contributor 'A miner's wife'
Contributor Liberal Party
Contributor Labour Party
Contributor Aneurin Bevan
Contributor Stanley Baldwin
Contributor Democratic Party
Contributor Stephen Samuel Wise
Contributor Haile Selassie
Contributor The Times
Contributor Cassandra*
Contributor Winston Churchill
Contributor Arthur Koestler
Contributor José Ortega y Gasset
Contributor André Gide
Contributor Isabel Brown
Contributor Nikolai Bukharin
Contributor Leon Trotsky
Contributor George Orwell
Contributor G. E. R. Gedye
Contributor Ellen Wilkinson
Contributor Daily Mirror
Contributor Leo Amery
Contributor Michael Foot
Contributor Frank Owen (3)
Contributor Peter Howard
Contributor Jeannette Rankin
Contributor A. Philip Randolph
Contributor Hans Scholl
Contributor Sophie Scholl
Contributor Christoph Probst
Contributor Shmuel Zygielbojm
Contributor I. F. Stone
Contributor Marie Claude Vaillant-Couturier
Contributor William Beveridge
Contributor Victor Kravchenko
Contributor Bishop George Bell*
Contributor F. A. Hayek
Contributor Pan-African Congress
Contributor Robert H. Jackson
Contributor The Franck Report
Contributor Albert Einstein
Contributor Niels Bohr
Contributor Victor Gollancz (2)
Contributor Ferenc Nagy*
Contributor Hubert H. Humphrey
Contributor Simone de Beauvoir
Contributor Margaret Chase Smith
Contributor Whittaker Chambers
Contributor Kenneth Tynan
Contributor Peter Wildeblood
Contributor Somerset Maugham*
Contributor Trevor Huddleston
Contributor Imre Nagy*
Contributor Peter Fryer
Contributor Kenneth Tynan
Contributor Arthur Koestler
Contributor John Osborne
Contributor Josiah Mwangi Kariuki
Contributor Lord Altrincham*
Contributor Edward R. Murrow
Contributor J. K. Galbraith*
Contributor Alex Comfort
Contributor Enoch Powell
Contributor Anthony Crosland
Contributor Kingsley Amis
Contributor Colin Welch
Contributor Richard Hoggart
Contributor Frantz Fanon
Contributor Che Guevara
Contributor Students for a Democratic Society
Contributor Fidel Castro
Contributor Rachel Carson
Contributor Nelson Mandela
Contributor Martin Luther King, Jr.
Contributor Betty Friedan
Contributor James Baldwin
Contributor Malcolm X
Contributor Iain Macleod
Contributor William Rees-Mogg
Contributor Ho Chi Minh
Contributor Mary McCarthy
Contributor 'A young Negro'
Contributor Norman Mailer
Contributor Mario Vargas Llosa
Contributor Eldridge Cleaver
Contributor Bernadette Devlin
Contributor George Mangakis
Contributor John Arlott
Contributor Germaine Greer
Contributor James Evans
Contributor Harold Evans
Contributor Bernard Levin
Contributor E. F. Schumacher
Contributor Alexander Solzhenitsyn
Contributor The Irish Times
Contributor Donald Woods
Contributor David Gwyn
Contributor Gloria Steinem
Contributor Václav Havel
Contributor John Pilger
Contributor Margaret Thatcher
Contributor Wei Jingsheng
Contributor Social Democratic Party
Contributor David Tinker
Contributor Arthur Scargill
Contributor Ronald Reagan
Contributor Church of England
Contributor Sarah Hipperson
Contributor Paul Foot
Contributor Primo Levi
Contributor Edward Norman
Contributor Rosalind Miles
Contributor Charter 88
Contributor Orbán Viktor*
Contributor Robert Harris
Contributor Liu Xiaobo
Contributor Zhou Duo
Contributor Hou Dejian
Contributor Gao Xin
Contributor Richard Davenport-Hines
Contributor Geoffrey Howe
Contributor August Wilson
Contributor Aung San Suu Kyi
Contributor Edward W. Said
Contributor Martin Woollacott
Contributor Stephen Sackur
Contributor John Keegan
Contributor Ken Saro-Wiwa
Contributor Peter Tatchell
Contributor Milan Kundera
Contributor Arthur M. Schlesinger
Contributor Jomo Kenyatta
Contributor Dennis Potter
Contributor Will Hutton
Contributor Melanie Phillips
Contributor Charles Moore
Contributor Graham Harvey
Contributor Ann Mallalieu
Contributor Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals
Contributor Earl Spencer*
Contributor Tony Benn
First Published 1998
Copyright 1998
Identifying Codes
ISBN 0-670-87052-8
EAN 5 90101
Barcode 9 780670 870523
Price £20.00
Printer's Key 1 3 5 7 9 10 8 6 4 2
Format Hardback
Publication Location London;New York; Ringwood; Toronto; Auckland
Page Count 440 pages
Font 11/13pt Monotype Garamond
Language English


There are no comments... Yet!
Login or Register to post a comment